Tour 3 Winner – Adam Davis


Adam Davis showed his class on the green baize to take the tour 3 title at Telford

Three tours in and three different winners goes some way to highlighting the strength of the field of players on show at the UK Pool Tour. Friday’s sessions proved somewhat of a bloodbath for some of the big names on the tour as the likes of Phil Harrison, Tom Cousins and Guiseppe D’Imperio found themselves to be early casualties, taken out by Harjeet Singh, Ian Fountain and Ian Duffy, respectively. Singh’s draw got no easier as he faced several tough matches, culminating in a last 16 deciding frame loss to Mick Hill. Yet even with the high profile early departures there were no fewer than 3 World Champions, past and present, occupying the semi-final places. The remaining place was taken by Pat Ward, who had a fantastic weekend dispatching of some top class opposition which included a 7-3 win in the quarter finals over current England international Shane Thompson.

Davis was in fine form as he effortlessly made his way through the field, casting aside great players such as John Roe, Mick Hill and Neil Davey amongst others. It seemed no one could get close to the Staffordshire cueist with the five frames dropped in the semi final against the current World Champion being the closest anyone managed to get. His opponent in the final, former World Champion John Roe, had a tough time getting to the final with three deciders in a row in the last 32, 16 and quarters. Fatigue may have played a part in the final as the run of the ball off the break heavily favoured Roe but he was unable to capitalise on the chances on offer, repeatedly letting Adam in who then raced off to a 6-1 lead. With Roe still having the advantage from the break, and his play improving, it seemed that a comeback may be on the cards but when the chance presented itself Davis made the most of it and sealed a comfortable 8-4 victory to take the title and the £2400 prize money.

All of the matches that were streamed, including both semi finals and the final, are available to watch free on our YouTube channel, just click the link below to access them:


SEMIS Mick Hill [8-5] Pat Ward [8-1]
QUARTERS Neil Davey [7-4] Dave Fernandez [7-6]
LAST 16 Chris Gill [7-3] Matt Brierley [7-6]
LAST 32 Ryan Michie [7-2] Dean Wilson [7-6]
LAST 64 Eddie Barker [7-3] Dave Kerrigan [7-0]
LAST 128 Alex Lawrence [7-2] Lee Blanchard [7-5]