2016 Tour 1 Preview


The 2016 UK Pool Tour is about to kick off at the home of 8 ball pool, the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool. This impressive hotel is about to play host to some of the finest pool playing talent on the planet and here we have a rundown of who is likely to feature in this weekend’s action, kicking off at 1pm on Friday 5th February.

The first tour of the 2015 season saw the current World Champion Mick Hill picking up the spoils as he fought off a challenge from the then World Champion Tom Cousins 8-7 in the final. As both of these players have been drawn in separate halves a repeat of this final could well be on the cards but both will face tough opposition from an extremely strong line up.

Phil Harrison will no doubt be one to watch after last year’s fantastic performance of 3 tour wins and the premier league title but with 2015 tour finalist Eddie Barker and current World Masters Champion Craig Waddingham both nearby in the draw he’ll by no means have an easy route through.

A clash of styles is on the cards in the first round in what is sure to be a great match between the methodical Neil Davey, who had a fantastic 2015 season finishing 10th and making the premier league, and 2015 World Masters runner-up Dave Fernandez, who will no doubt bring a more attacking style of play to the table.

The Men’s Premier League line up looks especially strong this season with five World Champions and the current European and World Masters champions. The full list is Tom Cousins, Ben Flack, Karl Sutton, Adam Davis, Craig Waddingham, Tom Church, Phil Harrison, Lewis Roberts, Steve Petty, John Roe, Gavin Lomax, Lee Kendal, Neil Davey, Shane Thompson, Mick Hill and Steve Martin.

The Ladies Premier League has increased in numbers to 16 and I’m sure they’ll all be aiming to topple the current title holder and World Champion Amy Beauchamp who asserted her dominance in the event last year winning all twelve of her matches. The player list is Chantelle Wosko, Avril Mallon, Jeanette Baptist, Alice Day, Leanne Cragg, Sharon Lunn, Amy Beauchamp, Kate Hillman, Jane Mitchell, Jodie Lockett, Lyndsey Roberts, Dawn Wright, Maddy Wilkinson, Sharon James, Lorraine Fivey and Lisa MacDonald.